Meadow House

A house that recalls the simple form of a barn, nestled among the maples at the edge of a hay field. Warmed by the sun, insulated with a thick coat of cellulose, a cozy nest for dreaming, living, growing.

 

This one is a deeply personal project: it is my own house. Designed and re-designed over several years as I got to know the site better over the seasons, then constructed as an owner-builder in the heart of a pandemic with a talented team of local carpenters.

 

A project to learn and share: the project is pursuing Passivhaus (Passive House) certification, which will make it one of the first projects in Quebec to reach this ambitious yet achievable energy efficiency standard.

Architecture and PH energy modelling: Tandem Architecture Écologique

General contractor: owner-builder

Carpentry: Kevin Dauphinais (Myden Construction), Jake Duteau & Corey Duteau (JCD Construction)

PHI Certification: Peel Passive House

La maison du pré

Une maison qui rappelle la forme simple d'une grange, nichée parmi les érables au bord d'un champ de foin. Chauffée par le soleil, isolée avec un épais manteau de cellulose, un nid douillet pour rêver, vivre, grandir.

Celui-ci est un projet profondément personnel: c'est ma propre maison. Dessinée et re-dessinée pendant plusieurs années alors que j'apprenais à mieux connaître le site au fil des saisons, puis réalisé en auto-construction au coeur d'une pandémie avec une équipe talentueuse de menuisiers locaux.

 

Un projet pour apprendre et partager: la certification du projet selon la norme internationale Passivhaus (Maison Passive) est en cours, ce qui fera de lui un des premiers projets au Québec à atteindre cette norme d'efficacité énergétique à la fois ambitieuse et réalisable.

Architecture et modélisation énergétique: Tandem

Entrepreneur général: auto-construction

Menuisiers: Kevin Dauphinais (Myden Construction), Jake Duteau & Corey Duteau (JCD Construction)

Certification PHI: Peel Passive House